Seven outfitter tools compared, gaps included.

Hunting lodge software does two jobs: the outfitter paperwork (waivers, tags, draws, harvest records) and the lodge itself (rooms, guides, the cook and the bar). We compared seven tools on both, using each company’s own website. Malvavisco wrote this page; it does the lodge side and none of the paperwork, and the table says so.

Updated

What is the best hunting outfitter software?

The best hunting outfitter software depends on where your office time goes. For waivers, tags, draws and harvest records, choose an outfitter suite such as HuntDocs, Hunt Outfitter, Krytter or LodgeRunner. For a hunting lodge where the work is rooms, guides, stands, the cook and the bar, Malvavisco fits, usually beside a waiver tool.

Seven hunting outfitter tools, feature by feature

Read across a row to compare one job. Every competitor cell links to the page it comes from.

FeatureMalvaviscoHuntDocsHunt OutfitterHuntPayLodgeRunnerKrytterMallard Bay
Built forHunting lodges and camps that run rooms, guides, meals and a barHunting outfitters: booking, waivers, payments and camp operationsSourceHunting guides and outfitters, from one guide to fifteen and moreSourceHunting guides and outfitters who run the office from a phoneSourceHunting and fishing lodges and outfitters; founded in 2001SourceHunting and fishing outfitters; built by a British Columbia outfitterSourceOutfitters, charters and lodges, with a marketplace and marketing servicesSource
Lodging and campsRooms or cabins for the stay or night by night, with check-in and check-outCabins, wall tents and bunks as units, with conflict detection and camp manifestsSourceLodging and unit assignment on the Solo and Pro plans and upSourceLodging management on the $79 Growth planSourceColor-coded room grid for rooms and cabinsSourceLocation management; rooms not describedSourceRooms and lodges as resources with their own availabilitySource
Guides, stands and vehiclesA named guide plus stands, vehicles or horses as assets, with overlap and skill checksDrag-and-drop staff calendar that flags conflicts; guide pay trackingSourceGuide portal, stand assignments and hunter stand linksSourceAssign guides and staff to tripsSourceGuide assignments by rate code and destination, with double-booking checksSourceClients organized by guide; guide-ratio pricingSourceGuides, boats and vehicles as resources, assigned at booking or laterSource
Cook and kitchenIncluded meals per stay, a daily dietary brief, kitchen ticketsCooks scheduled as crew; no meal planning mentionedSourceMeal planning, camp menus and a cook portal on the $179 Business planSourceNot mentionedSourceMeal schedules, dietary flags and a kitchen portalSourceNot mentionedSourceNot mentionedSource
Bar or shop with stockPoint of sale on the guest’s bill, with stock counts and supply ordersNot mentionedSourceAdd-on catalog and billing; no bar or stock mentionedSourceNot mentionedSourceBar and gift-shop tablet screens with inventory reportsSourceNot mentionedSourceNot mentionedSource
Online booking and card paymentsNo: staff enter bookings and record payments; no card processingStripe card and ACH; public checkout for non-hunting tripsSourceStripe; self-service booking on the Solo and Pro plans and upSourceOnline bookings and payment processing on every planSource13 online booking systems; nine card processorsSourceBooking engine; credit cards with fees paid by clients; US checksSourceBooking widget, quotes and Stripe checkout; Tap to PaySource
Waivers and e-signaturesNoYes, with an audit trail; can be signed offline in campSourceYes, on every planSourceOn the $149 Max planSourceYes: waivers and contracts, minors includedSourceYes: online signatures and click-to-agreeSourceYes: waiver forms attached to listingsSource
Licenses, tags and drawsNoLicense records; a card vault for state drawsSourceLicense and tag uploads on every plan; draw tracking on BusinessSourceNot mentioned on its features or pricing pagesSourceLicense numbers, tag scans, fees held over failed draws, preference pointsSourceLicenses tracked per client; bought for clients where permittedSourceNot mentionedSource
Harvest recordsNoHarvest records from guides; NF/BLM reportsSourceHarvest tracking and compliance forms with GPS and photosSourceNot mentionedSourceGame-meat labels; harvest reports not mentionedSourceHarvest and trophy feesSourceNot mentionedSource
CurrenciesAbout 30; one per booking, each reported separatelyNot statedSourceCAD and USD on every planSourceNot statedSourceUSD and CAD, with exchange rates to convert a billSourceIntegrated USD foreign exchangeSourceNot statedSource
Staff interface languagesEnglish, Spanish or PortugueseNot stated; website in EnglishSourceNot stated; website in EnglishSourceNot stated; website in EnglishSourceNot stated; website in EnglishSourceNot stated; website in EnglishSourceNot stated; website in EnglishSource
Works offlineNo: needs an internet connectionWaivers can be signed offline; payments need a connectionSourceHarvest forms, field notes and shopping lists on paid plansSourceNot statedSourceNot stated; runs on internet-connected devicesSourceNot stated; managed wherever you have internetSourceNot statedSource
Published priceNo: quoted after a demo$125 a month or $1,250 a yearSourceFree to $179 a month, plus a 1–4% fee paid by the clientSourceFree, $29, $79 or $149 a monthSourceHunting outfitters typically $100–$300 a monthSource$100 a month or $1,000 a year (USD)SourceFree plan; paid plans from $199 a monthSource

Malvavisco wrote this comparison. Each competitor cell comes from that company’s own website, checked on 23 October 2026, and details may have changed since. “Not stated” or “not mentioned” means we did not find it on the pages we read, not that the tool lacks it. If a cell is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.

Malvavisco: the lodge side of the hunt

Who it’s for. Hunting lodges and camps where the hard part is the stay: rooms or cabins, guides, stands and vehicles, the cook’s meal counts, the bar and the final bill. Teams that work in English, Spanish or both.

Strengths. Hunts are sold on the booking, then scheduled with a named guide and the assets they need (stands, blinds, vehicles, horses: any category you define), with overlap and skill checks. Included meals feed a daily dietary brief, and the bar charges to the booking with stock counts. Deposits, payment schedules and reports are kept per currency.

Limits. No waivers or e-signatures, no license, tag or draw tracking and no harvest records. No online booking, card processing or offline mode either.

Price. Not published; quoted after a demo. How it works for hunting lodges.

HuntDocs: paperwork, payments and compliance

Who it’s for. US hunting outfitters who want booking, waivers, payments and federal land reporting in one place.

Strengths. A trip builder that sends the waiver, documents and invoice in one package; e-signatures with an audit trail, signable offline in camp; Stripe card and ACH payments; QuickBooks Online sync; a lodging module with conflict detection and camp manifests; guide scheduling and pay tracking; harvest records with NF/BLM reports; a card vault for state draws.

Limits. Cooks are scheduled as crew, but we found no meal planning, bar or stock. Its FAQ says lodging is assigned in a separate module for now.

Price. $125 a month or $1,250 a year, with unlimited hunters and guides and a 14-day free trial (pricing page). Our full HuntDocs comparison.

Hunt Outfitter: the widest feature list for the price

Who it’s for. Hunting guides and outfitters, from one guide to fifteen and more, in the US, Canada and beyond.

Strengths. A free plan; license and tag uploads on every plan; harvest compliance forms with GPS pins and photos; stand assignments; lodging and unit assignment; offline field reports; CAD and USD. The Business plan adds draw application tracking, meal planning, a cook portal and a housekeeping turnover list.

Limits. No bar or point of sale on its feature list, and the camp and kitchen tools sit on the $179 plan.

Price. Starter is free with a 4% booking fee paid by the client; Basic $39, Solo $59, Pro $79 and Business $179 a month, each with a 1–3% client-paid fee (pricing page). Our full Hunt Outfitter comparison.

HuntPay: bookings and payments from the phone

Who it’s for. Hunting guides and outfitters who mainly want bookings, invoices and payments on a phone.

Strengths. A free plan with a booking calendar, online bookings and payment processing; trip reminders and text notifications from $29; lodging, guides and staff, and in-app tipping from $79; waivers, e-signatures and accounting integrations on $149; hunts advertised on Venku.

Limits. We found no kitchen, bar, tag, draw or harvest features on its features and pricing pages.

Price. Free, Core $29, Growth $79 and Max $149 a month, with no setup fees (pricing page). Our full HuntPay comparison.

LodgeRunner: outfitter and lodge in one

Who it’s for. Hunting and fishing lodges and outfitters that want one long-established system, including the lodge’s kitchen and retail.

Strengths. Guide assignments with double-booking checks; license numbers and tag scans on each booking; license fees held over when a hunter misses a draw; preference points; game-meat labels; hosted inquiry forms; e-sign waivers; a kitchen portal; bar and gift-shop screens with inventory; USD and CAD.

Limits. We found no harvest reporting on its pages, and no mention of staff languages other than English or of offline use.

Price. Hunting outfitters typically pay $100–$300 a month, with no set-up fees (pricing page). Our full LodgeRunner comparison.

Krytter: licensing and cross-border payments

Who it’s for. Hunting and fishing outfitters; built by a British Columbia outfitter for outfitters.

Strengths. A booking engine for your website; deposit schedules and overdue reminders; card fees paid by clients; US checks; integrated USD foreign exchange; paperwork and signatures online; licenses tracked per client and trip, and bought for clients where permitted; harvest and trophy fees; conservation and association fees collected and remitted.

Limits. We found no room, kitchen or bar features on its site.

Price. $100 a month or $1,000 a year (USD), with the first month free (home page). Our full Krytter comparison.

Mallard Bay: booking software with marketing

Who it’s for. Hunting and fishing outfitters, charters and lodges that want booking software tied to a website, a marketplace listing and marketing services.

Strengths. Listings with a booking widget and quotes; rooms, lodges, guides, boats and vehicles as resources; Stripe payouts, Group Pay and Tap to Pay; waiver forms; QuickBooks; calendar imports from Airbnb or Vrbo; an AI assistant in the dashboard.

Limits. We found no license, tag, draw or harvest features, and no kitchen or bar.

Price. A free plan; paid plans from $199 a month, with no commission on bookings you take yourself (guest ranches and lodges page). Our full Mallard Bay comparison.

Five questions that narrow the list

  1. Where does your paperwork live? If licenses, tags, draws and harvest reports take your evenings, start with an outfitter suite: HuntDocs, Hunt Outfitter, Krytter or LodgeRunner. Malvavisco does none of these.
  2. Do hunters sleep at your lodge? For rooms, cabins and camps, compare HuntDocs’ lodging module, LodgeRunner’s room grid, Mallard Bay’s resources and Malvavisco’s room and cabin plan.
  3. Who feeds the camp? If the cook needs headcounts and dietary notes, check LodgeRunner’s kitchen portal, Hunt Outfitter’s Business plan or Malvavisco’s dietary brief and kitchen tickets.
  4. Is there a bar or a shop? Of these seven, only LodgeRunner and Malvavisco charge bar and shop sales to the booking with stock.
  5. Which currency do your hunters pay in? For US hunters at a Canadian lodge, LodgeRunner converts USD and CAD, Hunt Outfitter supports both and Krytter handles USD exchange. Malvavisco keeps each currency in its own reports, which also suits pesos and dollars in Latin America.

If you also run fishing weeks, see the best fishing lodge software comparison. For outfitters in Canada, the currency and tax rows matter most.

Who should not pick Malvavisco

Don’t pick Malvavisco as your only system if you need the outfitter paperwork: it has no waivers or e-signatures, no license, tag or draw tracking and no harvest records. It also has no online booking, no card processing and no offline mode, which matters in a camp beyond cell coverage. If that is most of your office work, HuntDocs, Hunt Outfitter, Krytter or LodgeRunner will serve you better.

Malvavisco earns its place when the lodge is the business: rooms, guides, stands, the cook, the bar and one bill per party. Some lodges pair it with a waiver tool; there are no integrations, so the two don’t share bookings. See everything that isn’t built yet.

Choosing hunting lodge software

Yes. Malvavisco has no waivers or e-signatures, so lodges use a separate waiver tool or an outfitter suite that includes one, such as HuntDocs, Hunt Outfitter, HuntPay’s Max plan, Krytter, LodgeRunner or Mallard Bay. The two systems won’t share bookings automatically.

Published prices run from free plans (Hunt Outfitter, HuntPay, Mallard Bay) to $100 a month for Krytter, $125 for HuntDocs, $149 for HuntPay Max, $179 for Hunt Outfitter Business and from $199 for Mallard Bay’s paid plans. LodgeRunner says hunting outfitters typically pay $100 to $300 a month. Malvavisco is quoted after a demo.

According to their own sites, Hunt Outfitter stores license and tag uploads and tracks draw applications on its Business plan; LodgeRunner records license numbers, tag scans, held-over license fees and preference points; HuntDocs offers a card vault for state draws; and Krytter tracks licenses and can buy them for clients where permitted. Malvavisco does not track licenses, tags or draws.

LodgeRunner converts between USD and CAD with current exchange rates and handles GST and PST. Hunt Outfitter supports CAD and USD on every plan, and Krytter, built by a British Columbia outfitter, includes USD foreign exchange. Malvavisco keeps USD and CAD bookings in separate reports without converting them.

Yes. Any asset category you define, such as stands, blinds, vehicles or horses, gets its own calendar row, and Malvavisco refuses an assignment that overlaps another. Hunts are sold on the booking first and scheduled later, without charging twice.

Malvavisco’s staff interface runs in Spanish, English or Brazilian Portuguese, with guest emails in all three. The other tools in this comparison publish their websites in English and don’t mention other staff languages. Malvavisco also publishes its hunting lodge page in Spanish.

Ready when the season is.

Book a live walkthrough and see rooms, guides, the kitchen and payments working together.