An honest HuntDocs review, and when Malvavisco fits instead.
Looking for a HuntDocs alternative? Start with what HuntDocs does well and what it costs, taken from its own pages. HuntDocs is office software for US hunting outfitters: booking, waivers, payments, guides, camps and federal land reports. Malvavisco is built around running the lodge: rooms, guides, stands, the cook, the bar and the bill, in English, Spanish or Portuguese. We wrote this page, and we say when HuntDocs is the better choice.
What is the best HuntDocs alternative?
It depends on what you want to change. If your office work is waivers, deposits, licenses, harvest records and National Forest or BLM reports, HuntDocs already covers more of it than most tools, and Hunt Outfitter, Krytter or LodgeRunner are the closest alternatives. If the hard part is the lodge itself (rooms, guides and stands, the cook’s meal counts, a bar tab on one bill, a team that works in Spanish), Malvavisco fits better. Many outfitters are best served by staying with HuntDocs.
What HuntDocs does well
From HuntDocs’s own website, checked on 23 October 2026.
HuntDocs is built for hunting outfitters in the United States. Its pages describe one system for the office side of a hunt, from the first booking to the federal land report.
- Booking and paperwork in one send. A trip builder takes the client, hunt type (guided, drop camp or custom), dates, camp, staff, waivers, services, discounts and deposit dates on one screen, then emails one package with the invoice, a pay link and the documents to sign (source). Group bookings have one organizer and one invoice that can be split (source).
- Waivers and forms. E-signatures with an audit trail, counter-signatures and guardian signing for minors. Forms can be signed offline on a tablet in camp and sync when back online; forms that collect payment need a connection (source).
- Payments. Card and ACH through Stripe at Stripe’s standard rate, with no markup from HuntDocs; checks and cash can be recorded; processing fees can be passed to the client. It also offers a card vault for state draws (source).
- QuickBooks Online. Invoices, payments and deposits sync to QuickBooks Online; it says processing-fee lines and per-invoice tax overrides don’t sync yet (source).
- Lodging and camps. Cabins, wall tents, rooms and bunks as bookable units across owned lodges, contracted hotels and spike camps, with conflict detection, group room assignment, turnover blocks and printable camp manifests. Lodging is assigned in its own module; creating a reservation straight from a booking is on its roadmap (source).
- Guides and crew. Roles for guides, wranglers, cooks and packers, license and certification tracking, a drag-and-drop calendar that flags conflicts, an optional guide portal, and guide pay by hour, day, hunt, species or salary (source).
- Compliance. Harvest records from guides in camp, and operating plans, actual-use reports and permit documents for National Forest and BLM land, built from existing bookings (source).
- Ranches and preserves. Animal inventory for high-fence and free-range ranches and bird preserves, a hit list of named trophy animals, and a hunter register with license and tag numbers (source).
- Marketing. Website and Facebook lead capture, follow-ups by email and text, and email campaigns filtered by camp, species, year or weapon (source).
How much HuntDocs costs
As published on HuntDocs’s pricing page on 23 October 2026.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Outfitter Pro, billed monthly | $125 a month |
| Outfitter Pro, billed yearly | $1,250 a year (about $104 a month) |
- One plan with every feature, unlimited hunters and guides.
- A 14-day free trial (a card is taken at sign-up) and a 14-day money-back guarantee.
- No contracts; cancel any time and keep access to the end of the billing period.
- Client payments pay Stripe’s standard fee (2.9% + $0.30 a transaction); HuntDocs adds none.
- After cancelling, HuntDocs keeps your data for 90 days, and you can export client data and documents before you cancel.
Source: myhuntdocs.com/pricing. Malvavisco doesn’t publish prices; it quotes after a demo.
Malvavisco and HuntDocs, row by row
Malvavisco wrote this comparison. HuntDocs’s column comes from its own website, checked on 23 October 2026, with a link for each row. Its details may have changed since.
| Feature | MalvaviscoLodge software | HuntDocs |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Hunting and fishing lodges, guest ranches and eco lodges in the Americas where a stay includes guided days, meals and a bar | US hunting outfitters, plus hunting ranches and bird preserves; non-hunting trips such as trail rides and pack tripsSource |
| Guest online booking and payments | No: staff enter bookings from email, phone and agents, and record cash, transfer and card-terminal payments with receipts | Card and ACH through Stripe; public checkout for non-hunting trips, while big-game hunts are booked personallySource |
| Waivers and e-signatures | No: guests cannot sign waivers in Malvavisco | Yes, with an audit trail and guardian signing; can be signed offline on a tablet in campSource |
| Licenses, draws, harvests and permits | No: no license, tag, draw or harvest records, and no federal land reports | Card vault for state draws, harvest records, NF and BLM operating plans and actual-use reportsSource |
| Lodging and camps | Rooms or cabins on the booking itself, for the stay or night by night, with check-in and check-out | Cabins, wall tents, rooms and bunks in a separate lodging module, with conflict detection and camp manifestsSource |
| Guides, stands and vehicles | Hunts sold on the booking, then scheduled with a named guide and the stands, vehicles or horses they need, with overlap and skill checks | Drag-and-drop staff calendar that flags conflicts; guide portal and guide pay trackingSource |
| Cook and kitchen | Included meals planned per stay, a daily dietary brief, kitchen tickets from preparing to ready to served | Cooks scheduled as crew; dietary notes on client profiles; no meal planning mentionedSource |
| Bar and shop | Point of sale on the booking’s bill, with stock counts, supply orders and supply receipts | Not mentionedSource |
| Accounting and currencies | Rates in about 30 currencies, one per booking, reported separately; no accounting integration | QuickBooks Online sync; prices shown in US dollars, other currencies not statedSource |
| Staff interface language | English, Spanish or Portuguese, set per workspace | Not stated; website in EnglishSource |
| Offline | No: needs an internet connection | Forms and waivers can be signed offline in camp; payments need a connectionSource |
| Price | Not published; quoted after a demo | $125 a month or $1,250 a year, one plan, 14-day free trialSource |
When to choose each
Stay with HuntDocs, or choose it, if…
- You hunt on National Forest or BLM land and file operating plans and actual-use reports
- Waivers, deposits and the invoice should go out together, and be signable in camp without signal
- You need draw, license or harvest records, or you run a high-fence ranch or a bird preserve
- You want guide pay worked out by hunt, day or species
- You keep your books in QuickBooks Online
- You want one published price and a free trial
Choose Malvavisco if…
- The lodge is the business: rooms or cabins, the cook’s meal counts and a bar tab on the guest’s bill
- Each hunt should be scheduled with a named guide and the stand, blind, vehicle or horse it needs, with overlap checks
- Your team works in Spanish, or in Spanish and English
- You bill in pesos, reais or other currencies and want each one reported on its own
- You run more than hunting: fishing, a guest ranch or an eco lodge
What HuntDocs’s pages don’t cover
We found no mention of meal planning, a bar or shop with stock, interface languages other than English, or currencies other than US dollars. Lodging lives in its own module rather than on the booking. If any of that matters, ask HuntDocs during its demo. For a wider field, see the best hunting lodge software comparison, or how Malvavisco runs a hunting lodge.
HuntDocs reviews and alternatives
For US hunting outfitters whose office work is booking, waivers, deposits and compliance, its pages describe a complete system: one package with invoice and documents, offline signing in camp, Stripe payments, QuickBooks Online, lodging, guide pay, harvest records and NF or BLM reports. It fits less well if the lodge is the business, with meals and a bar on the guest’s bill, or if your team needs a Spanish interface.
HuntDocs publishes one plan, Outfitter Pro: $125 a month, or $1,250 a year. It includes unlimited hunters and guides, a 14-day free trial, a 14-day money-back guarantee and no contract. Card payments pay Stripe’s standard fee, with nothing added by HuntDocs.
For running the lodge, yes: bookings, rooms, guides and stands, the kitchen, the point of sale, payments and reports. It does not replace HuntDocs’s waivers, e-signatures, card processing, draw and harvest records or federal land reports.
Yes, for free. Our team sets up your rooms, rates, services, guides, assets and staff roles, enters every upcoming booking with its deposits, loads your guest list and rebuilds your emails, then checks it with you before you switch. Past hunts, signed waivers and harvest records stay in HuntDocs, so export them before you cancel.
Partly. Its pages say forms and waivers can be signed offline on a tablet in camp and sync later, while forms that take a payment need a connection. Malvavisco needs an internet connection for everything.
Its website is in English and doesn’t mention other interface languages. Malvavisco’s staff app runs in Spanish, English or Brazilian Portuguese, with guest emails in all three.











